How Effective is Barnes & Noble At Email Marketing?

We have talked a lot about not only how to better our writing but also on how to be discovered. Here’s a look into how businesses like Barnes & Noble grab peoples attention through email marketing. I signed up for their email list to see book suggestions and receive 2 emails a day. I look at 50% of the emails i get, usually the first one for the day. Here’s an example of an email I got the other day.

The subject line of this email was “Our Expert Book Sellers Recommend..” and this enticed me to open the email because i love getting new book suggestions. The content did indeed match the subject line thankfully. The call to action is to click on the different book genres in order to see and possibly buy a new book that interests you. It was very effective because I clicked on the “Bestsellers” link to see whats doing good this week. The quantity of the content is just right. Offering 3 book suggestions for 5 big genres is enough to fulfill your needs but not so much that it overwhelms you. I’m sure this whole email went to the entire database because it is a general statement of top recommended picks for the week, although the genres could have been segmented to people who may buy specific genres often. I believe this email accomplished its objective of showing the customers the top books for the week in different genres and getting the books out there to increase sales. I expect to see another email just like this with top picks next week but the next email should be sales on some of the books offered.

Here is the second email I received from them…

The subject line of this email is “Your Surprise Offer is Waiting..” and this enticed me to open the email because I enjoy coupons and deals of various books. The content did match the subject line by offering different deals on various magazines chosen specifically for me. The call to action is to take the offer of 15% off and it is effective because I did indeed click on the “Activate 15% off” link at the top and purchased a book. The quantity is appropriate but there could have been more. Would’ve been nice to see book offers to avoid confusion about whether or not the coupon was just for magazines or not. This email most likely went to the whole database but the “Items selected for you” was definitely segmented. This email indeed accomplished its objective because I ended up purchasing a book. The next email should be more offerings or more top picks for the week.

This shows a good example of how businesses get people to look at your books so it is important when trying to be discovered that you recognize who excels in getting your book out there and who doesn’t.

As always, you should checkout my professors blog because inspiration can come from anywhere.

Inspire the World

~Lu

 

Leave a comment