Experimenting With Darker Poetry

dark poetry

So lately I’ve been experimenting with darker poetry. I think it is important to reach out of our comfort zones and try new things. Really push our creative limits and see what kind of writer we can really be. Above is a poem I wrote digging into the darker parts of me. I tried to stray away from the deeper softer parts of me and more towards the anger hidden below deep. I like the way this poem came out and I hope you do to. I didn’t just stop with one poem though, I really wanted to see where else I could go with this style of writing. I will admit this first one was my favorite but below is another one I rather enjoyed as well.

dark poetry

The idea of the monster not living beneath your bed but rather in it is what inspired this poem. That deep down maybe I am not so innocent. Maybe the monster exists within and the innocence is a cover. I encourage you to to look deep within and not just your good parts or even your broken ones. I encourage you to see your darkest parts and harness that in your writing. Take the view as the villain because we are all so willing to be the heroes in our stories, but maybe we are someones villain. Being able to think outside the norms of society is what will set your poetry apart. Finding your voice will make you unique. This is a rather short post but i believe it to be an important one. Always try to reach into yourselves and write about all your parts, not just the parts you are proud of.

 

If you like my post, give my Instagram a follow where I share some of my own work daily!

Inspire the World

~Lu

One thought on “Experimenting With Darker Poetry

Leave a comment